Friday, May 18, 2018

How to skip the Recycle Bin when deleting files

When you delete a file, whether you right-click on the file and hit the Delete command or whether you press the Del button on your keyboard, the deleted file gets transferred in your Recycle Bin. Then from there you have to open the Recycle Bin and click on the Empty Recycle Bin in order to permanently delete the file, and free space on your hard drive.

This is done in cases of accidental deletions, and gives you the option to restore the file. In this tutorial, you will learn how to bypass the Recycle Bin so that the file gets deleted permanently from the first command.
Note: Be careful when enabling this option, as anything you delete using this method cannot be restored back.

One-time permanent deletion

This option is good for occasional use without risking losing important data accidentally.
  1. Select the file you want to delete.
  2. On your keyboard, press simultaneously the Shift + Del keys.
  3. A pop-up message will ask you if you want to permanently delete the file (will NOT go into Recycle Bin). Click Yes.

Have the files permanently deleted every time

This is more risky, as any time you hit the Delete command, you will lose that file permanently and will not be able to restore it through the Recycle Bin.
  1. Right-click on Recycle Bin.
  2. From the context menu, click on Properties.
  3. Under the Settings for selected location section, select the Don't move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.
  4. Under that you have the option to enable the Display delete confirmation dialogue (Recommended).
  5. Click the OK button.



Disclaimer: The content provided in this article is for informational purposes only. You are solely responsible for verifying the information as being appropriate for your personal use.

Post a Comment

Whatsapp Button works on Mobile Device only